Minnesota House DFL wins majority

Nov 7 2018

St. Paul, Minnesota — The Minnesota House DFL has flipped the House from red to blue. DFLers ran on building a Minnesota that works better for everyone, including providing affordable health care to all Minnesotans.

“We are excited to get to work for Minnesotans,” said House DFL Leader Melissa Hortman. “After a campaign filled with hard work, the real work begins now. We look forward to working with Governor-elect Walz and Lieutenant Governor-elect Flanagan to build a Minnesota that works better for everyone. We truly are One Minnesota and we all do better when we all do better.”

As of the pre-general election finance reports, House DFLers were being outspent nearly two-to-one — $3.83 million to $2.06 million — by the HRCC and Republican-aligned special interest groups. Despite this record amount of outside spending, DFLers prevailed.

Districts flipped include:

  • 44A - Ginny Klevorn
  • 49A - Heather Edelson
  • 34B - Kristin Bahner
  • 33B - Kelly Morrison
  • 36A - Zack Stephenson
  • 55A - Brad Tabke 
  • 56A - Hunter Cantrell 
  • 56B - Alice Mann
  • 57A - John Huot
  • 52B - Ruth Richardson
  • 48B - Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn
  • 53B - Steve Sandell
  • 42A - Kelly Moller
  • 54A - Anne Claflin
  • 38B - Ami Wazlawik
  • 14B - Dan Wolgamott 
  • 39B - Shelly Christensen
  • 5A - John Persell